Only seven states and one territory require that tipped workers receive the same minimum wage as other workers: Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington State, and Guam. Other states allow what is called a “tip credit” against the minimum wage, i.e., their tips are considered part of their wage for purposes of minimum wage. Needless to say, the District of Columbia has not been one of those states. However, in June 2018, DC voters passed an initiative raising the minimum wage of tipped workers to $15. DC is a “tip credit” jurisdiction, which means that employers can apply an employee’s tips, up to a certain maximum amount (and only if the employee actually made that much in tips), to the minimum wage required in DC. For more on how to calculate a tip credit, click here. However, now the DC Council is considering reversing the measure. The Council has held heated public hearings on the issue. Each of the sides debated the expected impact of the measure. This U.S. Dept. of Labor page summarizes the Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees in each of the states.
- . . . Alcoholic beverage law and legal services for businesses engaged in, or seeking to engage in, the sales of alcoholic beverages. California Alcoholic Beverage Law services include ABC licenses, conditional use permits, Police Department permits, Sheriff Department permits, and determinations of Public Convenience or Necessity. California Alcoholic Beverage Law is a legal practice area of William A. Adams of Norton, Moore, & Adams, LLP. Mr. Adams has been providing legal services to the hospitality, grocery, and convenience store industries for over 20 years. Although the firm's offices are in San Diego California, the firm provides its alcoholic beverage legal services statewide. The firm also provides representation to businesses in enforcement proceedings related to alcoholic beverage sales, entertainment, and related matters.